Skip to main content
HomeHonored Members

Honored member award

In 1995, the first ACONE Honored Member Scholarship was awarded by the club.  Each year, this scholarship has been named to honor a member particularly active in the club, who has made a significant contribution to aviation and to the Aero Club of New England, and who has not otherwise been honored by the club.  This is a way for the club to say “Thank You” to these particular members.

The previously Honored Members are:

1995 Julius Goldman
1996 Frank H. Hidinger
1997 Richard E. Bicknell
1998 L. Dennis Shapiro
1999 John B. Roach
2000 Francis MacIntire
2001 James McIntyre
2002 Chester Motyka
2003 Shelia Bauer
2004 Bill Johansen
2005 Michelee Cabot
2006 Peter Kallander
2008 Jo Rita Jordan
2009 Paul Diette
2010 Bill Cuccinello
2011 M. Reese Dill
2012 Arthur G. Allen
2013 Julie Seltsam-Wilps
2014 Mark Saklad
2015 Ron Gruner
2016 Norm Fredkin
2017 John Griffin, Jr.
2018 James E. Ellis
2019 Joseph Passafiume
2020 Barry Otto
2021 John (Jack) Cryan
2022 Neil Singer
2023 Joseph Dini
2024 Georgia Pappas

Nominations are continually requested for the Honored Member Scholarship.  Qualified candidates should meet all of these requirements:

a)    Not a present Director of the ACONE Board,
b)    Not received the Cabot Award, and
c)    Not been previously honored by the Club

If you have someone in mind to receive this singular honor, please contact us with a paragraph or two stating why this member should be so honored.